Blog Challenge- Week 10 (Part A)- Nominating Blogs

The Edublogs Awards are coming up soon! This week, we were supposed to nominate a blog; either a class one, or a student one. I chose to nominate a class blog. This blog isn’t just any regular blog; it is run by a homeschooling mother! Last year, I also chose to do a class blog, but not the same one as I did this year. Here is the link to that blog post:

https://aashisblog.edublogs.org/2013/11/23/blog-challenge-week-9-part-b/

And here is the link to the blog that I nominated:

http://kidblog.org/Miss_Taylor/

Anyways, the blog that I nominated this year is Homeschool Towers. It is run by Ms. Mara. She has created an amazing blog. One of the reasons I really like this blog is, the posts are very interesting. This is one of the main necessities of great blogs. Now, what exactly makes the posts interesting? Well, she uses a variety of digital tools for every post. So far, I have seen (on her blog) a comic from Bitstrips, a slideshow from Powtoon, a sticky note wall from Padlet, a video from YouTube, and of course, lots and lots of pictures.

Also, I really liked the background design of this blog. Also, there is only one pet fox, which is adorable. This blog has widgets, and they are used to count how many people visited the blog, what the weather is like, and even a daily cartoon! She also has a widget that compares her time to the visitor’s time. Another cool thing about this blog is they have their own Flipboard Magazine. There is also a widget that shows Ms. Mara’s Twitter feeds.

These are only some of the things that make this blog great. One more thing, though; the link to this blog! Here it is:

http://homeschooltowers.com/

Who will/did you nominate?

One comment to Blog Challenge- Week 10 (Part A)- Nominating Blogs

  1. Ms. Mara says:

    Hello Aashi,

    How very sweet of you to nominate my class blog. You did such a great job writing this post, very detailed; it makes me want to go visit my own blog. 🙂

    This challenge was probably one of the hardest ones for me, because I want to give everyone an award. So, instead of nominating just one blog, my daughter and I wrote a post together about a few of the student blogs we like (including yours), and for fun we decided to make our own award for each of the blogs.

    Here is the link, if you would like to check it out: Homeschool Towers

    Thank you,
    Ms. Mara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *